The Short Answer
Use this comparison to decide which written proposal deserves closer review, not to crown a winner. DOL fiduciary materials support an objective process: ask providers for the same information, compare services and fees together, document the selection process, and keep monitoring the provider after selection.[2][3]
If you are buying a franchise or small business and need ROBS administration plus financing coordination, FranFund publishes more detail about employee workflows and a separate Business Loans package. If you are focused on Benetrends’ Rainmaker structure, Roth Advantage option, stock appraisal wording, and audit-protection language, Benetrends gives you specific public claims to verify. Neither public source set answers every contract question.
What a ROBS Provider Is Helping You Build
A rollover as business start-up, or ROBS, generally moves eligible retirement-plan assets into a qualified retirement plan, a tax-favored retirement plan that must follow IRS and DOL rules, sponsored by a C corporation, meaning a corporation taxed separately from its owners. The plan then buys employer stock, or shares of the sponsoring company, and the corporation uses the proceeds for an operating business. The IRS describes this basic structure and also identifies compliance matters involving valuation, annual filings, prohibited transactions, employee coverage, promoter fees and business failure risk.[1]
Benetrends and FranFund describe help with a retirement plan, a C corporation, employer stock, filings and ongoing administration. A provider can coordinate pieces of the transaction, but the employer, plan fiduciaries (the people responsible for acting prudently and in the plan participants’ interest), and appropriate professionals still need to understand the documents, fees, investment risk and continuing plan duties.[1][2][3]
Public Pricing and Reproducible Calculations
The comparison below uses only published setup and monthly fees checked on August 13, 2026. First year equals setup plus 12 monthly payments. Three years equals setup plus 36 monthly payments. The formulas do not include business purchase price, franchise fee, payroll, taxes, professional fees outside the public package wording, custodian or trustee fees not stated in the checked sources, state-specific costs not stated in the checked sources, SBA loan costs, or future exit costs.
| Provider and product | Setup | Monthly | First year | Three years | Formula and boundary |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benetrends: Rainmaker[4][5] | $4,995 | $155 | $6,855 | $10,575 | $4,995 + ($155 × 12) = $6,855; $4,995 + ($155 × 36) = $10,575 Rainmaker public package; Rainmaker (Roth) Advantage is a separate Benetrends option. |
| Benetrends: Rainmaker (Roth) Advantage[4] | $9,995 | $195 | $12,335 | $17,015 | $9,995 + ($195 × 12) = $12,335; $9,995 + ($195 × 36) = $17,015 Distinct Benetrends product; do not normalize it against Rainmaker or FranFund without written scope. |
| FranFund: FranPlan 401(k) Business Funding plus required TPA[6] | $4,995 | $165 | $6,975 | $10,935 | $4,995 + ($165 × 12) = $6,975; $4,995 + ($165 × 36) = $10,935 Published FranPlan setup plus required TPA only; Business Loans packaging remains separate. |
Service Scope Side by Side
These labels are deliberately modest. “Stated in checked source” means a provider page states the service area. “Coordination stated” means the source describes adjacent coordination but not necessarily an included service. “Not stated publicly” means the checked public sources did not answer the question; it is not a negative quality finding.
| Service area | Benetrends | FranFund | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup and implementation | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both publish setup support; exact inclusions still come from each written agreement. |
| C corporation and qualified plan formation | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both name corporation and plan tasks; attorney reliance and pass-through costs need contract review. |
| Rollover, asset transfer and stock issuance | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both publish transfer and employer-stock support. |
| Ongoing administration and filings | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both publish recurring administration; FranFund itemizes several named filings. |
| Employee census, enrollment, contributions and notices | Not stated publicly | Stated in checked source | The checked Benetrends pages do not state employee eligibility, enrollment, contribution reconciliation or notification workflows; FranFund names them. |
| Employer-stock valuation and annual fair market value | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both publish valuation or fair-market-value assistance; independence, reliance and transaction-level valuation scope need written terms. |
| IRS or DOL audit assistance | Stated in checked source | Stated in checked source | Both publish audit help; attorney-fee coverage, exclusions and survival after termination require written terms. |
| SBA loan packaging, lender coordination and closing | Coordination stated | Coordination stated | Both show adjacent financing support; FranFund publishes a separate Business Loans fee, while Benetrends financing language does not prove included loan packaging. |
| Plan corrections | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Neither checked provider source states VCP, DFVCP, prohibited-transaction correction, failed-testing correction, correction-fee scope or who signs correction filings. |
| Business sale, shutdown and plan termination | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Neither checked provider source states sale, plan termination, provider transition, employer-stock buyback, trust liquidation, final valuation or final filing scope. |
| Cancellation and refunds | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Protection, consultation and no-surprise-billing language do not establish refund amount, cancellation rights, timing, exclusions or mechanics. |
| Record ownership and data exports | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Neither checked provider source states record ownership, export format, participant data handoff, transition files or termination data rights. |
| Contract exclusions and pass-through costs | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Published package prices do not establish state-fee pass-throughs, custodian or trustee costs, add-on loan services, legal exclusions, valuation reliance, renewal terms or exit fees. |
Material source support
Fit Scenarios
These scenarios translate the pricing and service evidence into buyer profiles before the individual provider cards. They preserve the same caution as the rest of the page: use them to decide what to verify in writing, not to treat either company as the automatic choice.
Which provider profile fits which buyer?
Use these scenarios after reviewing the price math and service table. They summarize when each public source set may deserve closer written diligence; they do not recommend signing with either provider.
These are fit scenarios, not recommendations to sign. A lower first-year total can lose importance if the written scope excludes a service you need. A broader-sounding package can lose importance if the contract leaves key duties, pass-through charges or exit work outside the fee.
Contract Questions to Ask Before Signing
Ask both providers the same questions in writing. The DOL specifically emphasizes comparing providers on services, fees, compensation, responsibility and ongoing monitoring, and it notes that provider contracts must disclose service and compensation information for the arrangement to be assessed.[2][3]
- Which entity-formation, plan-document, filing and state costs are included, and which are passed through?
- Who signs as trustee, plan administrator, named fiduciary and corporate officer, and what duties remain with the business owner?
- What valuation work is included at formation, annually, after material events and at sale or shutdown?
- What employee eligibility, enrollment, contribution, testing, notice and benefit-statement tasks are included?
- What audit, correction, VCP, DFVCP, prohibited-transaction and late-filing support is included or excluded?
- How are SBA, franchise, lender, closing, add-on loan and third-party professional fees priced?
- What cancellation, refund, renewal, termination, transition and data-export rights apply?
- What happens if the business fails, sells assets, sells stock, changes entity type or needs to terminate the plan?
Owner Responsibilities and Professional-Review Boundaries
ROBS funding can be a legitimate structure to evaluate, but it does not make the business investment safe. The plan exchanges retirement assets for stock in one privately held C corporation. If the business loses value, the retirement account can lose value as well. The IRS ROBS project specifically discusses failed businesses, bankruptcy, liens, dissolved corporations, valuation matters, Form 5500 (the annual retirement-plan information return), and Form 1120 (the C corporation income-tax return) issues.[1]
Professional review is not optional for hard questions. A benefits attorney or qualified plan professional should review plan terms, fiduciary roles, prohibited-transaction risk, employee eligibility, amendments and correction procedures. A CPA should review corporate tax and payroll consequences. A valuation professional may be needed for employer-stock value, especially at transactions or exits. A lender should separately underwrite any SBA or conventional loan. Provider support does not replace those judgments.[1][2]
Affiliate compensation has no role in this comparison. The page does not use review, product, offer, rating or price schema; it does not collect contact information; and it does not state that either provider should be selected for everyone.
Frequently Asked Questions
The answers below resolve common comparison questions without changing the bounded conclusion above. Use them as prompts for written proposals when a provider’s public page does not state the term you need.
Sources Checked August 13, 2026
- [1] IRS ROBS compliance project
Official source checked August 13, 2026. The IRS explains that a ROBS arrangement uses rollover assets to buy stock in a new C corporation and identifies concerns involving Form 5500, Form 1120, valuation, prohibited transactions, discrimination and promoter fees.
- [2] DOL: Meeting Your Fiduciary Responsibilities
Official source checked August 13, 2026. The DOL explains fiduciary duties, service-provider selection and monitoring, reasonable fees, plan documents, participant disclosures, employer-stock fair-market-value transactions, Form 5500 reporting, correction programs and professional-review limits.
- [3] DOL: Understanding Retirement Plan Fees and Expenses
Official source checked August 13, 2026. The DOL says plan fiduciaries should evaluate services, fee categories, bundled and unbundled arrangements, provider compensation, ongoing monitoring and the effect of fees on retirement savings.
- [4] Benetrends ROBS/RAPS cost
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Benetrends publishes Rainmaker at $4,995 setup and $155 per month; Rainmaker (Roth) Advantage at $9,995 setup and $195 per month; and states that incorporation services, legal, administrative and state filing fees, minutes, bylaws, stock issuance and management, retirement-plan creation, transfer coordination, stock appraisal, ongoing administration, recordkeeping, annual reports, annual fair-market-value assistance, and Gold Standard audit and liability protection are included.
- [5] Benetrends ROBS 401(k) Funding
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Benetrends describes setting up a C corporation, designing a qualified retirement plan, transferring retirement funds, using plan funds to buy C-corporation stock, funding a small business or franchise, Audit Shield protection, ROBS+®, ongoing administrative and filing support, and pre-qualification for financing.
- [6] FranFund pricing
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. FranFund publishes FranPlan 401(k) Business Funding at a $4,995 one-time setup fee and required TPA service at $165 per month; setup includes corporation establishment, organizational documents, federal tax ID, 401(k) plan and corporate checking account assistance, asset transfers, stock certificates and attorney consultation. TPA includes contribution allocation, annual compliance testing, Form 5500, 1099-R, Form 945, fair-market-value support, Summary Annual Report, benefit statements, employee census review, enrollment support, plan amendments, audit assistance, transaction documentation, employee notifications, webinars, projections, plan design and QDRO review. Business Loans are a separate $2,500 one-time standard fee with add-on services available.
- [7] FranFund homepage
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. FranFund describes SBA Loans, FranPlan® 401(k)/IRA Rollover Funding, a free pre-approval letter based on FranScore®, in-house teams, continued guidance through TPA services after opening, a network of franchise-friendly lenders, and SafetyNet™.
Next step
If both providers remain plausible, request written proposals using the same facts: rollover amount, account type, current-employer restrictions, business or franchise, employee count, financing need, expected closing date and exit concerns. Compare the replies against the questions above before selecting a provider.