FranFund vs Pango Financial: ROBS Provider Comparison
Direct answer: neither provider is the right default for every buyer. FranFund is easier to document if you want public detail on TPA work, Form 1099-R/Form 945 support, amendments and restatements, IRS/DOL audit assistance, and separate Business Loans packaging. Pango Financial is easier to document if you want lower published monthly maintenance, online account access, explicit C-corporation eligibility language, and clear public disclaimers that Pango is not the fiduciary, trustee, lender, or legal or financial advisor. Before choosing either one, get the live price and contract scope in writing because Pango publishes two setup prices and FranFund's currently checked pricing page displays a setup amount different from this comparison's preserved arithmetic.
By Dennis Shirshikov. Sources checked August 13, 2026. The comparison is educational and does not decide whether a ROBS is legally, tax-wise, or financially suitable for a specific buyer.
The honest answer for a buyer
If you are comparing FranFund and Pango Financial, start with fit rather than a blanket ranking. FranFund's public pages give more visible support for continuing administration details and separately priced loan packaging. Pango's public pages give more visible support for online setup/account features, lower monthly maintenance and role-limit disclaimers. That does not make either provider safer, cheaper in every case, or better for every transaction.
The correct next step is to ask both providers for the same written scope: setup fee, monthly administration fee, state and registered-agent charges, custodian or investment fees, valuation responsibility, employee charges, correction fees, audit support, cancellation and refund terms, data export, and exit or plan-termination support. The DOL's fee guidance supports this same service-by-service comparison approach for retirement-plan fiduciaries.[2]
What a ROBS does before any provider comparison matters
A rollover as business start-up, or ROBS, generally moves eligible retirement assets into a qualified retirement plan sponsored by a C corporation. The plan then purchases stock in that C corporation. The corporation receives cash for operating or acquisition needs, while the retirement plan receives employer stock. The IRS describes this structure and warns that operational failures can create qualification, prohibited-transaction, filing, valuation and tax consequences.[1]
The individual does not personally receive the rollover as spendable cash. The retirement plan owns employer stock. The C corporation owns and operates the business assets or acquisition proceeds. A custodian, trustee or plan account may hold plan assets before the stock purchase, while the corporation's bank account receives money only when the plan buys stock under the transaction documents.
That sequence explains why both providers' formation, rollover, stock-certificate, valuation and administration language matters. A provider may help coordinate pieces of the transaction, but the buyer still needs a lawful C corporation, a qualified plan document, rollover paperwork, stock subscription and issuance records, valuation support, plan and corporate bank accounts, and continuing plan administration.
Actors, assets, documents, money movement and timing
A ROBS transaction normally involves several actors: the prospective business owner, the new C corporation, the corporation's qualified retirement plan, the plan trustee or fiduciaries, any custodian or plan bank, the provider or TPA, the corporate bank, the valuation provider, and often a CPA, attorney, lender, franchisor or business seller. Pango expressly states that it is not a lender, fiduciary, trustee, or financial or legal advisor; retirement plan fiduciaries and trustees remain responsible for plan design and investment direction.[5]
The asset movement should be documented in order: eligible retirement assets roll into the new plan, the plan purchases employer stock, and the corporation receives capital. Common documents include articles of incorporation, bylaws, organizational minutes, EIN records, plan and trust documents, plan TIN records, bank or custodial account instructions, rollover forms, stock certificates, stock ledger, stock-purchase calculations, valuation support and annual filing records. FranFund and Pango both publish support for multiple pieces of that document chain.[3][6][7]
Timing depends on state incorporation processing, rollover processing, plan setup, valuation and any lender, seller or franchisor deadline. Pango says incorporation, plan setup and investment are usually completed in two to three weeks in most states, while also noting state turnaround differences and a California expedited-fee exception.[6] Treat that as provider-reported timing, not a guarantee for a specific closing.
Pricing math, conflicts and what the totals omit
The following table preserves the exact arithmetic for the selected comparison scenarios. It also separates source limitations: Pango publishes conflicting setup prices, and FranFund's source check on August 13, 2026 found a live setup amount that differs from the selected arithmetic. Written provider quotes should control a real buying decision.
These are arithmetic scenarios, not complete bids. Ask each provider for a written quote that identifies state fees, registered-agent renewals, custodian or investment charges, employee charges, valuation costs, corrections, exit fees and refund terms.
| Scenario | Provider/product | Setup | Monthly | First year | Three years | Formula and limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FranFund selected comparison scenario[3] | FranPlan 401(k) Business Funding plus required TPA | $4,995 | $165/month | $6,975 | $10,935 | $4,995 + ($165 × 12) = $6,975; $4,995 + ($165 × 36) = $10,935 Published FranFund TPA is $165/month. The currently checked FranFund pricing page displayed a different setup amount ($4,995), so a buyer should ask FranFund to confirm the live setup fee in writing before relying on this preserved comparison scenario. The separate Business Loans standard fee is not blended into ROBS totals. |
| Pango $4,695 setup-reference scenario[5][6][7][8] | DreamSpark using $4,695 setup references plus $129 monthly maintenance | $4,695 | $129/month | $6,243 | $9,339 | $4,695 + ($129 × 12) = $6,243; $4,695 + ($129 × 36) = $9,339 This uses Pango pages that publish $4,695. It does not resolve the same provider's separate $3,995 FAQ setup statement and is not a total-cost guarantee. |
| Pango $3,995 setup-reference scenario[6][8] | DreamSpark using $3,995 FAQ commission-answer setup reference plus $129 monthly maintenance | $3,995 | $129/month | $5,543 | $8,639 | $3,995 + ($129 × 12) = $5,543; $3,995 + ($129 × 36) = $8,639 This preserves the FAQ conflict and does not select $3,995 as controlling current price. Starting or public prices are not total-cost guarantees. |
FranFund also publishes a separate Business Loans fee. That may matter if you are combining ROBS with SBA or conventional financing, but it should not be blended into the base ROBS setup and administration scenarios.
FranFund's loan support is a separate financing service, so it belongs beside the ROBS price comparison rather than inside it.
| Provider/product | Standard fee | Scope note |
|---|---|---|
| FranFund: Business Loans standard packaging[3] | $2,500 | FranFund prices Business Loans at a $2,500 one-time standard fee with add-on services available. Treat this as separate loan-packaging support, not part of base FranPlan/TPA ROBS arithmetic. |
What each provider publicly says it will handle
This service-scope table is a buyer's question list. The labels show whether a checked public page states the item, mentions it more generally, or did not show the item in the reviewed pages. They do not score quality, service speed, legal sufficiency, or contract enforceability.
A published item means the checked public source says it. A missing item means it was not found in the checked pages, not that the provider cannot offer it by contract.
| Question | FranFund | Pango Financial | Buyer takeaway |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup and incorporation | Published “Establishment of the corporation with the appropriate state agency” [3] | Published “preparation and filing your articles of incorporation” [6] | Both providers describe C-corporation setup help; the dollar amount needs written confirmation because FranFund's checked page changed and Pango publishes conflicting setup prices. |
| Plan document and corporate records | Published “Creation of company's organizational documents including meeting minutes, bylaws, federal tax ID” [3] | Published “design of your DreamSpark® plan” [6] “Plan Trust Identification Number (TIN)” [7] | Both name plan and corporate-document work; the buyer still needs final plan, trust, board and stock documents before money moves. |
| Rollover and stock purchase | Published “Assistance in facilitating all necessary asset transfers” [3] “Issuance of stock certificates for all personal and plan investments” [3] | Published “Instructions and required forms to request your rollover” [7] “Stock issuance calculation form” [7] | Both describe the steps that turn retirement-plan assets into employer stock; neither source turns the stock purchase into a loan to the owner. |
| Ongoing TPA and filings | Published “$165/month (Required to remain in compliance with IRS and DOL regulations)” [3] “Preparation of and filing of annual plan Form 5500, 1099-R, Form 945” [3] | Published “manage your plan maintenance for you for $129 a month” [6] “preparing your form 5500” [8] | FranFund names Form 1099-R and Form 945 in addition to Form 5500; Pango names Form 5500, testing and plan reconciliation at a lower monthly published fee. |
| Employees and participant administration | Published “Employee census review and enrollment support” [3] “Provide employer with required employee notifications” [3] | Published “any employee that meets the eligibility guidelines for the DreamSpark® plan must have the option to participate” [6] “participant statement preparations” [8] | A ROBS plan is an employee benefit plan once workers become eligible; ask who handles eligibility, notices, statements and corrections. |
| Employer-stock valuation | Published “Annual fair market value support” [3] | Published “only available for brand new C corporations that were not capitalized prior to engagement of this service” [7] | Both discuss valuation support, but Pango's included valuation is limited to brand new uncapitalized C corporations. Existing businesses may require separate valuation work. |
| IRS or DOL audit response | Published “IRS and DOL audit assistance when necessary” [3] | Not found | FranFund names audit assistance. The checked Pango pages discuss compliance support but did not state an audit-response scope. |
| Amendments, testing and restatements | Published “Preparation of required plan amendments and restatements” [3] “Annual compliance testing/annual contribution review” [3] | Mentioned “compliance testing” [6] “plan-design help” [8] | Both mention testing or plan-design support; only FranFund's checked source names required amendments and restatements. |
| Loan packaging and lender coordination | Published “$2,500 (One-time standard fee with add on services available)” [3] “Strategic lender matching & presentation” [3] | Not found | FranFund separately prices Business Loans. The checked Pango DreamSpark pages did not publish lender-packaging tasks or a lender-packaging fee. |
| Franchise context | Mentioned “proprietary franchise-specific FranScore® report” [4] “franchise-friendly lenders” [4] | Mentioned “franchise opportunities, existing businesses and startup opportunities” [6] “Referral fee of $1,300 paid for each completed sale” [7] | Both mention franchise use. Franchise experience does not prove that a specific franchise is a sound investment or that a lender will approve the deal. |
| Plan corrections | Not found | Not found | The checked provider pages did not state who handles VCP, DFVCP, failed testing, prohibited-transaction analysis or correction fees. |
| Sale, shutdown or plan termination | Not found | Not found | The checked pages did not state business-sale, employer-stock redemption, final valuation, provider transition, trust liquidation or final filing scope. |
| Cancellation and refunds | Not found | Not found | Consultations and satisfaction language are not the same as a written refund right, cancellation period, timing rule or fee schedule. |
| Records, custody and data handoff | Not found | Not found | The checked pages did not state record ownership, export format, participant-data handoff, cybersecurity terms or provider-transition files. |
| Fiduciary and advisor role | Not found | Published “Pango Financial® is not a lender, fiduciary, trustee, or financial or legal advisor” [5] “Retirement plan fiduciaries and trustees, not Pango Financial®, are responsible” [5] | Pango publishes explicit limits on its role. FranFund's checked pages did not publish equivalent fiduciary-scope wording; written contracts control both providers. |
How to decide between FranFund and Pango Financial
FranFund may deserve first diligence if your transaction needs documented TPA breadth, employee census and enrollment support, annual FMV support, Form 1099-R/Form 945 language, audit-assistance language, amendments/restatements, or help packaging a separate business loan. Its homepage also emphasizes franchise-specific pre-approval and a lender network, which can matter when a franchisor or SBA lender has a tight funding package.[3][4]
Pango may deserve first diligence if you value lower published monthly maintenance, online setup/status/account access, a publicly described C-corporation requirement, and explicit language about what Pango is not responsible for. It may also be attractive for a brand-new C corporation that fits Pango's included valuation limitation, but that limitation should be read literally: the comparison page says the certified third-party valuation is only available for brand new C corporations that were not capitalized prior to engagement.[5][6][7][8]
Either conclusion can reverse if the live quote, contract, state fees, registered-agent renewal, employee count, asset custodian, valuation need, exit plan, lender timing, or correction support differs from the public pages. A lower monthly fee is not automatically a lower total cost. A broader public service list is not automatically better execution.
Risks, failure modes and why administration continues after funding
ROBS risk is not limited to setup. The plan has exchanged diversified retirement assets for stock in one privately held C corporation. If the business fails, the plan's employer stock can lose value. The IRS project reported high rates of failed or failing ROBS businesses, bankruptcy, liens, dissolutions, depleted retirement savings, recurring promoter fees and legal issues among examined arrangements.[1]
Compliance risk also continues after the stock purchase. The IRS specifically points to Form 5500/Form 1120 filing misunderstandings, participant issues, stock valuation, plan amendments that restrict later employee participation, promoter fees and failure to issue Form 1099-R. Employees who meet plan eligibility terms may need the option to participate; Pango's FAQ states that eligible employees must have that option, and FranFund's TPA list includes census review, enrollment support and employee notifications.[1][3][6]
Exit and failure planning should be discussed before funding. If the business is sold, shut down, refinanced, converted, diluted, or unable to continue, someone must address employer-stock value, plan assets, participant accounts, final filings, possible stock redemption, valuation support, payroll and tax reporting. The checked provider pages did not give enough public detail to assign either provider a clear exit-support advantage.
Alternatives to compare before committing retirement assets
ROBS is one funding structure, not the default answer to every business purchase. Compare it with SBA 7(a) debt, seller financing, conventional bank loans, equipment financing, home-equity financing, taxable retirement withdrawals, cash savings, outside equity and smaller launch plans. The right comparison should include taxes, penalties, interest, fees, collateral, personal guarantees, equity dilution, working capital, retirement concentration, employee-plan administration, opportunity cost and exit consequences.
For example, an SBA loan may preserve retirement diversification but add debt service, underwriting time, collateral requirements and often a personal guarantee. A taxable retirement withdrawal may be simpler structurally because it does not require a C corporation plan stock purchase. Outside equity can reduce debt pressure but dilutes ownership. A smaller launch may avoid both debt and retirement-plan complexity but could leave the business undercapitalized. None of these alternatives is universally better; each changes who bears risk and when cash leaves the business.
Next steps before signing
Use the same written request with both providers so the answers are comparable. Ask for the current setup fee, recurring fee, included TPA services, state fees, registered-agent renewals, custodian or plan-account charges, investment fees, participant charges, annual valuation method, Form 5500/Form 1099-R/Form 945 responsibility, audit support, plan amendments, corrections, refund rights, cancellation timing, cybersecurity practices, data export, provider transition, sale support and plan termination costs.
Then involve the right outside professionals for the actual transaction: an ERISA or benefits attorney for plan and fiduciary questions, a CPA for corporate and payroll tax coordination, a valuation professional for employer stock, a lender for any debt package, and a franchise or acquisition advisor if a franchisor or seller controls timing. A provider can coordinate tasks, but the buyer remains responsible for understanding the structure before retirement-plan assets become concentrated in the business.
FAQ
These short answers summarize the comparison, but they do not replace written quotes or provider contracts.
Sources and source-check dates
The comparison uses official IRS and DOL sources for structural and fiduciary boundaries, and provider-controlled pages for provider pricing and service claims. Provider pages can change, so the date and limitation on each source matters.
- 1. IRS ROBS compliance project
Official source checked August 13, 2026. The IRS describes a ROBS as an arrangement in which retirement funds are rolled into a plan that purchases stock of a new C corporation; it flags Form 5500/Form 1120, rollover, participant, stock-valuation, promoter-fee, nondiscrimination, prohibited-transaction and Form 1099-R issues, and says a determination letter does not protect sponsors from operational failures.
- 2. DOL: Understanding Retirement Plan Fees and Expenses
Official source checked August 13, 2026. The DOL states that plan fiduciaries must prudently select and monitor service providers, understand services and compensation, compare bundled and unbundled arrangements, consider participant communications and reports, and keep monitoring fees after selection.
- 3. FranFund pricing
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. FranFund's pricing page displayed $4,995 for 401(k) Business Funding, $165/month for TPA, and $2,500 for Business Loans. This comparison preserves the selected $4,995 FranPlan arithmetic separately and notes that a fresh written quote should control any buying decision.
- 4. FranFund homepage
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. FranFund describes a process that explores SBA Loans and FranPlan 401(k)/IRA rollover funding, a franchise-specific FranScore pre-approval report, in-house teams, continued TPA guidance, and a franchise-friendly lender network.
- 5. Pango 401(k) ROBS Business Financing
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Pango describes DreamSpark as ROBS business financing, says the plan can start at just $4,695, and lists incorporation setup, certified business valuation for new businesses, registered-agent services, low monthly maintenance, customized retirement-plan setup, and 24/7 online account management.
- 6. Pango common questions
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Pango's FAQ says the DreamSpark one-time setup fee is $4,695 and maintenance is $129/month, but a separate answer on the same page says the setup fee is only $3,995 plus $129/month. It also states Roth IRAs, nongovernmental 457 plans and non-spouse death-benefit IRAs are ineligible; the business must be a C corporation and cannot be a sole proprietor, partnership, S corp., LLC, nonprofit or professional service corporation.
- 7. Pango DreamSpark comparison
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Pango's comparison table lists a $4,695 program setup fee, $129 monthly plan maintenance and support, online setup/status/forum features, incorporation, EIN, plan TIN, stock certificates and ledger, bank-account and rollover instructions, and a certified third-party valuation only for brand new C corporations not capitalized before engagement.
- 8. Pango DreamSpark Plan and Maintenance
Provider source checked August 13, 2026. Pango says onboarding and compliance specialists set up and manage the DreamSpark plan, with maintenance access for Form 5500, compliance testing, documentation maintenance, plan reconciliation, participant statements, vesting, eligibility tracking, plan-design support, and a $129 monthly fee.
Update this page when FranFund or Pango changes pricing, Pango resolves its setup-price conflict, either provider publishes correction or exit terms, the IRS or DOL changes relevant guidance, or provider contracts disclose materially different service scope.
Compare the next related questions
If the FranFund-versus-Pango question is only one part of your provider search, these related pages help compare individual providers, fee structures and methodology before you request written quotes.