Skip to main content
401kROBSCheck eligibility
Free provider cost tool

Five-Year ROBS Provider Cost Comparison

Direct answer: this tool compares documented setup fees plus required recurring provider administration over years 1 through 5. It counts setup once, annualizes monthly, quarterly, or annual recurring fees, applies documented first-year-included exceptions, and leaves incomplete public pricing as unknown instead of estimating.

The result is a neutral arithmetic comparison, not a ranking, recommendation, lead funnel, provider score, or statement that service scopes are equivalent.

Fixed formula

Setup once + required recurring periods over years 1-5. Optional add-ons stay out of the base total unless a user enters the same comparable add-on scenario, and then the add-on remains a separate line.

Compare documented five-year provider fees

Select up to four providers. Defaults and options use neutral alphabetical order and canonical records, not affiliate compensation. Native FormData checkboxes keep inputs browser-local.

Providers

Providers without complete public setup and recurring administration fees stay visible as unknown and are never counted as zero.

Same-dollar optional add-on scenario

Use only when the same comparable written add-on amount should be layered separately on every selected provider. It does not fill provider unknowns.

Greater than $0 when enabled; cents or whole dollars only.

4 selected. Maximum 4. Unknown providers remain listed but not calculated.

Accelefund

Setup

$4,500

Annualized recurring

$1,188

Five-year recurring count/formula

99/monthly annualized to 1188 × 5 inclusive recurring periods

Base documented five-year total

$10,440

Enabled add-ons separate

Excluded

Scenario total

$10,440

Source/date/status

calculable; checked July 24, 2026; https://accelefund.com/pricing/

Includes

Review financing options with an expert; Form a closely held business corporation; Set up the corporation's retirement plan; Roll over funds into the new ROBS plan; Document plan purchase of company stock; Fund the business

Excludes and unknowns

Optional add-ons are excluded from the base documented five-year total unless the user enters the same comparable add-on scenario.; Business purchase price, franchise fee, payroll, taxes, penalties, investment losses, valuation or professional fees not stated in the preset, corrections, and exit costs are excluded.; Additional partner costs, pass-throughs, state-specific reimbursements, corrections, termination, cancellation, and refund mechanics require written confirmation.; State filing, registered-agent, bond, custodian, trustee, bank, payroll, CPA, tax-return, correction, cancellation, refund, transition, valuation beyond public scope, and exit or plan-termination costs are excluded unless documented separately.; Provider contracts can change price, timing, included services, refund terms, employee support, valuation scope, and audit assistance after the public source date.

Aprio

Setup

Not calculable / unknown

Annualized recurring

Not calculable / unknown

Five-year recurring count/formula

Not calculated because public setup or recurring administration input is incomplete.

Base documented five-year total

Not calculable / unknown

Enabled add-ons separate

Excluded

Scenario total

Not calculable / unknown

Source/date/status

unknown; checked July 24, 2026; https://www.aprio.com/business-tax/rollover-business-startups-services/

Includes

C corporation formation and registration support; ROBS plan setup and compliance documentation; Rollover coordination and stock purchase execution; Annual administration and ongoing compliance monitoring; exact tasks and fees require written scope

Excludes and unknowns

Optional add-ons are excluded from the base documented five-year total unless the user enters the same comparable add-on scenario.; Business purchase price, franchise fee, payroll, taxes, penalties, investment losses, valuation or professional fees not stated in the preset, corrections, and exit costs are excluded.; Contact for pricing; Contact for pricing; State filing, registered-agent, bond, custodian, trustee, bank, payroll, CPA, tax-return, correction, cancellation, refund, transition, valuation beyond public scope, and exit or plan-termination costs are excluded unless documented separately.; Provider contracts can change price, timing, included services, refund terms, employee support, valuation scope, and audit assistance after the public source date.

Benetrends Financial

Setup

$4,995

Annualized recurring

$1,860

Five-year recurring count/formula

155/monthly annualized to 1860 × 5 inclusive recurring periods

Base documented five-year total

$14,295

Enabled add-ons separate

Excluded

Scenario total

$14,295

Source/date/status

calculable; checked August 13, 2026; https://www.benetrends.com/blog/how-much-does-robs-raps-cost/

Includes

Initial ROBS consultation; C corporation and qualified plan setup; Retirement rollover and stock purchase; Ongoing plan administration

Excludes and unknowns

Optional add-ons are excluded from the base documented five-year total unless the user enters the same comparable add-on scenario.; Business purchase price, franchise fee, payroll, taxes, penalties, investment losses, valuation or professional fees not stated in the preset, corrections, and exit costs are excluded.; Rainmaker Roth Advantage is a separate $9,995 setup and $195 monthly product and is not used as the default preset.; State filing, registered-agent, bond, custodian, trustee, bank, payroll, CPA, tax-return, correction, cancellation, refund, transition, valuation beyond public scope, and exit or plan-termination costs are excluded unless documented separately.; Provider contracts can change price, timing, included services, refund terms, employee support, valuation scope, and audit assistance after the public source date.

Business Funding Trust

Setup

Not calculable / unknown

Annualized recurring

Not calculable / unknown

Five-year recurring count/formula

Not calculated because public setup or recurring administration input is incomplete.

Base documented five-year total

Not calculable / unknown

Enabled add-ons separate

Excluded

Scenario total

Not calculable / unknown

Source/date/status

unknown; checked July 24, 2026; https://businessfundingtrust.com/fees/

Includes

Process not published in checked accessible text; confirm the written setup sequence before relying on Business Funding Trust for installation, rollover, stock-subscription, valuation, administration, or exit steps

Excludes and unknowns

Optional add-ons are excluded from the base documented five-year total unless the user enters the same comparable add-on scenario.; Business purchase price, franchise fee, payroll, taxes, penalties, investment losses, valuation or professional fees not stated in the preset, corrections, and exit costs are excluded.; No exact public setup price found; No-cost kit; optional help quote; State filing, registered-agent, bond, custodian, trustee, bank, payroll, CPA, tax-return, correction, cancellation, refund, transition, valuation beyond public scope, and exit or plan-termination costs are excluded unless documented separately.; Provider contracts can change price, timing, included services, refund terms, employee support, valuation scope, and audit assistance after the public source date.

Why totals are not apples to apples

Provider presets are not equivalent scope. Starts-at and from qualifiers are preserved, optional services are excluded from base totals, and unknown or quote-only fees are not estimated. Lower arithmetic is not individualized guidance, a provider-quality judgment, or a reason by itself to choose a provider.

Documented five-year method

The model reuses canonical provider records and the provider-fee calculator presets. A calculable provider must have a documented setup fee, documented required recurring administration fee, and documented recurring cadence. Missing or quote-only setup or recurring inputs produce a visible unknown status, never a zero, estimate, rank, score, or omission.[4]

For most monthly providers the formula is setup + monthly fee × 60. For quarterly providers it is setup + quarterly fee × 20. For annual providers it is setup + annual fee × 5 unless the source says the first year of support is included in setup; then only years 2 through 5 are counted.

Worked example independently checked

FranFund remains calculable from the canonical record: $4,995 setup plus $165 monthly required TPA service. Five-year base total: 4,995 + 165 × 60 = 14,895.

My Solo 401k Financial remains calculable from the canonical record with a first-year-included exception: $3,000 setup includes the first 12 months, and $899 annual support starts 12 months later for the first 10 participants. Five-year base total: 3,000 + 899 × 4 = 6,596.

FranFund

165/monthly annualized to 1980 × 5 inclusive recurring periods. Base five-year total: $14,895.

Source proximity: https://www.franfund.com/pricing; checked August 13, 2026.

My Solo 401k Financial

899/annual annualized to 899 × 4 post-first-year recurring periods. Base five-year total: $6,596.

Source proximity: https://www.mysolo401k.net/401k-business-financing/401k-business-financing-pricing/; checked July 24, 2026.

Why these totals are not apples to apples

Published provider pages do not describe identical service scope. One provider may include first-year support, another may preserve starts-at pricing, another may bundle valuation or registered-agent work differently, and another may require a written proposal before any arithmetic is possible. DOL fee materials support comparing fees with services, compensation, and monitoring duties together rather than selecting only the lowest number.[2][3]

  • Provider contact verification still matters: request written setup fee, recurring fee, cadence, included services, exclusions, pass-throughs, employee charges, valuation scope, audit support, correction support, cancellation, and exit fees.
  • This page does not provide legal, tax, fiduciary, investment, valuation, accounting, provider-selection, or suitability advice. ROBS can involve plan qualification, employer stock, C corporation, employee, Form 5500, Form 1120, prohibited-transaction, valuation, and failure issues.[1]
  • Provider contracts can change after source checks. Current-as-of dates, direct source links, authorship, and canonical records are shown so arithmetic can be reproduced.

Editorial independence, privacy, and current-as-of status

Provider presets inherit canonical provider records; affiliate status does not affect defaults or ordering. The tool uses browser-local FormData inputs and does not store inputs, set cookies, persist query strings, request a quote, ask for an email or phone number, display selected-customer stories, or send entries to providers.

No taxes, investment losses, business costs, lead forms, rankings, or quote requests are included in the arithmetic. Unknown or non-equivalent scope remains explicit until provider contact verification supplies written comparable terms.

Sources

  1. [1] IRS ROBS compliance project

    Official IRS source describes ROBS arrangements, rollover/direct-transfer records, participant information, stock valuation and purchases, Form 5500 or 5500-EZ, Form 1120, promoter-fee concerns, prohibited transactions, discrimination, business failure, bankruptcy, liens, and dissolution. Page last reviewed Nov. 16, 2025; checked Aug. 13, 2026.

  2. [2] DOL: Understanding Retirement Plan Fees and Expenses

    Official DOL source explains that fiduciaries should compare services and costs together, evaluate bundled and unbundled arrangements, understand direct and indirect compensation, and monitor providers. Checked Aug. 13, 2026.

  3. [3] DOL: Meeting Your Fiduciary Responsibilities

    Official DOL source supports fiduciary prudence, written plan documents, service-provider selection and monitoring, reasonable fees, Form 5500 reporting, plan expenses, corrections, and employer-stock fair-market-value boundaries. Checked Aug. 13, 2026.

  4. [4] Canonical 401kROBS provider records

    This tool inherits the maintained provider records and provider-fee calculator presets used by the provider directory, profiles, interactive provider comparison, and fee calculator. Direct provider pricing links and retrieval dates are displayed per provider. Internal canonical records reviewed Aug. 13, 2026.

Use the number as a question list

Ask each provider to verify the same fee inputs and scope in writing before comparing proposals.

Open the Provider Fee Calculator